Six months ago 

 
“Isn’t she just so hot?” Leah said to me.
I looked at the girl she was pointing to. The girl had long dark hair cascading to her waist and bright red lips. She was dressed in a tight dress with ankle boots.
“Yes. She is.” I commented quietly.
“Why don’t you come to my house after our last lecture, we can work on our essays together?”
Leah was studying English just like me at Greyton’s top university.

That was how we met.
“That’ll be nice. Thanks. I need your opinion on it anyway.” I smiled, returning back to my normal voice after the whole hot girl episode.
“Great.” She said, biting her apple.
I watched her mouth move over the apple as she bit it. Her jaw moved slowly when she chewed and she licked her lips on purpose.
I swallowed.
She knew I was looking there.
Leah had on black tights and a green tank top that hugged her in all the right places. There was no doubt she was beautiful. Her skin was flawless and lightly tanned.
Her eyes were painted with eyeliner and mascara. It made her deep blue eyes blaze. Her eyes were really dark that it could be called midnight blue, I really liked her eyes.
Her hair was fawn coloured at the top and the ends were chocolate brown, dipped dyed and slightly wavy. Her lips were a lovely shade of rose pink.
I saw her cheeks flush as I gazed at her. I immediately averted my eyes and bit my lip.
“Don’t do that.” She said in a hushed tone.
Oh my.
***
Her room was white with the bed in the centre. There was a bedside desk piled with books and a lamp. On the wall there was a flat screen Tv and a collection of DVDs in a cabinet.
“Want to study first or eat?”
I looked at her like she was crazy.
“Eat.” We said at the same time.
It was a joke between us about how much we loved food.
We made our way to the kitchen and Leah got out the ingredients.
“Yum!” I looked at the pancake mix, eggs and bacon on the table.
“Making bacon pancakes. Making bacon pancakes.” She sang like Jake from Adventure Time, a show we sometimes watched.
I took out a bowl and poured the pancake mix into it, but failed badly. The packet broke and it ended up half on the table, half on me. Leah laughed.
“Can’t I trust you to be normal for once when you’re making my food?”
I stuck my tongue out. “Nope. It’s boring being normal. Besides I’m sure the tables were hungry.”
“Yeah and so are my rabid wild dogs outside , be careful I’ll feed you to them.” She warned, pointing a finger at me as she cleaned up the mess.
“Mr. Cuddles? Never. He loves me.”
Leah sighed. “What am I going to do with you?”
I smiled. My best friend, Aberdeen, and I always used to say that to each other. We’d quote the line from Garfield, ‘love me, feed me, never leave me.’
I missed Abby. She was away travelling at the moment. I couldn’t wait to tell her about my new friend.
That made me think…
Was Leah just my friend?
“Whatever you like.” I replied to Leah more confidently than I expected.
She stopped what she was doing and met my eyes. My heart suddenly started pounding against my chest. My mouth went dry and I forced myself to swallow.
She came ever so slowly towards me. With each step I thought my heart would burst. My skin crawled as she touched my arm. Her other hand came passed my hair and around my neck.
Her face was centimetres from mine, her lips dangerously close. I didn’t dare to breathe. She closed her eyes and without thinking I did too.
“I’m going to kiss you now.” She whispered.
I leaned in first.
I didn’t disagree at all as my lips touched hers, soft and cool. My hands on their own accord went to her waist to bring her closer to me. Her body melded with mine and a fire I had never known burned within me.
We pulled away to catch our breaths. 

I stroked her hair like I had been aching to. I longed to know what it felt like against my fingertips. She smelled of flowers and delicious spices. I licked my lips.
I had kissed a girl … and I liked it.

 

 

 

Follow the rest of the story on Wattpad.com 


@Iridescentforever

SAME LOVE [Book One] 

Leave a Reply

